Free tickets: Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts

UAlberta students comment below to win free tickets to awards night April 20

Our friends Megan and Beth Dart (‘07 BFA) ofCatch the Keys Productions, the amazing team behind the production of the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts, generously offered Curious Arts a handful of free tickets to give away to students to attend the event at the Winspear Centre on Monday, April 20, 2015 at 7 p.m.

Sisters Megan and Beth Dart run the company Catch the Keys in Edmonton.

The first five UAlberta students to comment at the bottom of this post (including their name and their UAlberta program of study) will have a pair of complimentary tickets waiting for them to pick up at the VIP table Monday night.

Let’s celebrate with Mayor Don Iveson (‘01 BA) and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) at the 28th annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts with a program of some of the best artistic talent our city has to offer, in an evening of awards and performances featuring some of Edmonton’s most prolific artists.

I am particularly proud to highlight our many alumni honoured with award nominations this year:

Rudy Wiebe (’56 BA (Gen), ’60 MA and ’09 DLitt (Hon.)

Alexis Marie Chute (‘07 BFA)

Catalyst Theatre, led by Artistic Director Jonathan Christensen (‘89 BA, ‘96 MFA)

Chris Craddock (‘96 BFA)

Amy Shostak (‘07 BA) and Rapid Fire Theatre

John Hudson (‘84 BA, ‘88 BFA)

Steve Pirot (‘93 BA, ‘96 BFA)

Kelsie Acton (‘06 BA Honors)

Cayley Thomas (‘13 BFA)

Greg Bechtel (‘11 PhD)

Amber Borotsik (‘01 BFA)

For a full list of nominees, please visit

The Dart sisters have pulled together a fantastic lineup for the Mayor’s arts awards evening hosted by Hey Ladies!, Theatre Network’s spectacular comedy trio Leona Brausen, Davina Stewart (‘86 BFA) and Miss Cathleen Rootsaert; and featuring performances by WAJJO African Drummers, DJ CreeAsian, Rhythm Speaks, Promise Productions’ Birdie on the Wrong Bus, Joe Nolan, Mary Pinkoski (’99 BA), Eva Foote, Jeannie Vandekerkhove, Jodie Vandekerkhove, The Wet Secrets and Capital City Burlesque. A special surprise performance by this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner is planned and those in attendance will get the chance to mix and mingle at the after party in the Winspear lobby featuring Le Fuzz!

Presenter: Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE)
Event Title: 28th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts
Date: Monday, April 20 at 7 p.m.
Venue: Winspear Centre

Ticket sale proceeds this year support Theatre Network!
Purchase your tickets today:

{update} April 21, 2015
Congratulations to our UAlberta alumni award winners at last night’s Mayor’s Celebration for the Arts

Canadian literary legend, Rudy Wiebe ’56 BA (Gen), ’60 MA and ’09 DLitt (Hon.), won the $10,000 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize, for his latest novel, Come Back, the story of a father grappling with his son’s suicide.

Contemporary dance and theatre artist Amber Borotsik (’01 BFA) won the Telus Courage to Innovate award.

Amy Shostak (’07 BA), outgoing artistic director at Rapid Fire Theatre, won the DIALOG Award for Excellence in Artistic Direction.

Visual artist and writer Alexis Marie Chute (’07 BFA) won the John Poole Award for Promotion of the Arts.